BCA Council

The BCA has a National Council, shown below, comprising nearly 50 roles, of which 29 have a vote. With the exception of a few key administrative roles, all are staffed by volunteers.

BCA Council meet at least three times per year to conduct the business of the BCA between General Meetings, to progress all of the BCA’s key objectives and facets, and to serve our members and support British caving.

Election and operation of BCA Council is set out in our Constitution.

Officers

Role
Name
Term
Email
Chair
Les Williams
2018-2021
chair@british-caving.org.uk
Secretary
Matt Ewles
2019-2022
secretary@british-caving.org.uk
Treasurer
Howard Jones
2019-2022
treasurer@british-caving.org.uk
Training Officer
Nigel Atkins
2018-2021
training@british-caving.org.uk
Conservation and Access Officer
Louise Baddeley
acting until 2020 AGM
conservation@british-caving.org.uk
Equipment and Techniques Officer
Mark Sims
2018-2021
equipment@british-caving.org.uk
Youth and Development Officer
Rostam Namaghi
2018-2021
youth@british-caving.org.uk
Publications & Information Officer
Jane Allen
2019-2022
pandi@british-caving.org.uk

Group/Club Representatives

Role
Name
Term
Group/Club Representative Position 1
Hellie Adams
2019-2021
Group/Club Representative Position 2
Gary Douthwaite
2019-2021
Group/Club Representative Position 3
Idris Williams
2018-2020
Group/Club Representative Position 4
John Hine
2018-2020

Individual Member Representatives

Role
Name
Term
Individual Member Representative Position 1
Phil Rowsell
2019-2021
Individual Member Representative Position 2
Will Burn
2019-2021
Individual Member Representative Position 3
Andrew McLeod
2018-2020
Individual Member Representative Position 4
Jenny Potts
2018-2020

Regional Council and Constituent Body Reps

Role
Name
Association of Caving Instructors
Stephan Natynczuk
British Cave Rescue Council
Emma Porter
British Cave Research Association
John Gunn
Cambrian Caving Council
Stuart France
Cave Diving Group
Claire Cohen
Council of Higher Education Caving Clubs
David Botcherby
Council of Northern Caving Clubs
Tim Allen
Council of Southern Caving Clubs
Alan Butcher
Derbyshire Caving Association
Jenny Potts
Devon and Cornwall Underground Council
David Jean
National Association of Mining History Organisation
Steve Holding
National Caving Scout Active Support Unit
Tony Radmall
William Pengelly Cave Studies Trust
Richard Vooght

Additional BCA Positions

Role
Name
Email
Artificial Cave
Katie Eavis
artificial.cave@british-caving.org.uk
Cave Registry
David Cooke
registry@british-caving.org.uk
CRoW Working Party Convenor
David Rose
crow@british-caving.org.uk
European Speleological Federation (FSE) Rep
Ged Campion
fse@british-caving.org.uk
Insurance Manager
Howard Jones
insurance@british-caving.org.uk
IT Working Group
Gary Douthwaite
it@british-caving.org.uk
Library Representative
Jenny Potts
library@british-caving.org.uk
Media Liaison
Andy Eavis
media@british-caving.org.uk
Membership Administrator
Wendy Williams
membership@british-caving.org.uk
Newsletter Editor
David Rose
newsletter@british-caving.org.uk
Qualifications Management Committee (QMC) Chair
Juliet Parker Smith
chair.qmc@british-caving.org.uk
Radon Working Group
Gethin Thomas
radon@british-caving.org.uk
Rope Testing
Bob Mehew
rope@british-caving.org.uk
Safeguarding Officer
Chris Boardman
safeguarding@british-caving.org.uk
Training Administrator
Mary Wilde
trainadmin@british-caving.org.uk
UIS representative
Andy Eavis
uis@british-caving.org.uk
Vision Working Party Convenor
Hellie Adams
little_caver@hotmail.com
Web Services
David Cooke
webservices@british-caving.org.uk
Webmaster
Gary Douthwaite
webmaster@british-caving.org.uk